Loading Events

« All Events

Rebecca Fraimow for “Lady Eve’s Last Con”

July 22 @ 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Free

Hearts will race and anti-grav boots will fly in this scifi rom-com perfect for fans of WINTER’S ORBIT and THE RED SCHOLAR’S WAKE.
Ruth Johnson and her sister Jules have been small-time hustlers on the interstellar cruise lines for years. But then Jules fell in love with one of their targets, Esteban Mendez-Yuki, sole heir to the family insurance fortune. Esteban seemed to love her too, until she told him who she really was, at which point he fled without a word. Now Ruth is set on revenge: disguised as provincial debutante Evelyn Ojukwu and set for the swanky satellite New Monte, she’s going to make Esteban fall in love with her, then break his heart and take half his fortune. At least, that’s the plan. But Ruth hadn’t accounted for his older sister, Sol, a brilliant mind in a dashing suit… and much harder to fool. Sol is hot on Ruth’s tail, and as the two women learn each other’s tricks, Ruth must decide between going after the money and going after her heart.

Rebecca Fraimow is an author and archivist living in Boston whose short fiction has appeared in PodCastle, The Fantasist, and Consolation Songs: Optimistic Speculative Fiction for a Time of Pandemic, among other venues; “This Is New Gehesran Calling,” which appeared in Consolation Songs, was on the longlist for the 2021 Hugo Award. Rebecca’s novella The Iron Children was released in 2023 from Solaris books. Lady Eve’s Last Con is her debut novel.

Sarah Wendell is the co-founder and current mastermind of Smart Bitches Trashy Books.com, one of the most popular and longest-running blogs examining romance fiction. Sarah is also the host of Smart Podcast, Trashy Books, featured in Oprah Magazine as one of “21 Best Book Podcasts to Listen to When You’re Not Reading.” Sarah is also the author of four books, including Everything I Know About Love, I Learned from Romance Novels, and Lighting the Flames, a contemporary Hanukkah romance novella. Sarah has appeared on CBS Sunday Morning, Good Morning America, The Today Show, NPR’s The 1A, All Things Considered and on Pop Culture Happy Hour.

Details

Date:
July 22
Time:
6:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Cost:
Free
Website:
https://peoplesbooktakoma.com/event/rebecca-fraimow/

Venue

People’s Book
7014-A Westmoreland Ave.
Takoma Park, MD 20912 United States
+ Google Map
Phone
240-641-8979
View Venue Website

Organizer

People’s Book
Email
info@peoplesbooktakoma.com
View Organizer Website

Join Our Newsletter for the Latest Events & Updates!

© 2006-2024 Old Takoma Business Association. All rights reserved.
Site by Bright Light Media | Photography by Sam Kittner